PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Need Advice on Dead Cruiser

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Dec 2011, 10:31 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Need Advice on Dead Cruiser

Greetings, all --

Newbie here. I've owned my 2001 Ltd Edition for about 3.5 years now and have rarely had it in the shop. The only times I have have been cooling system related, so I hope someone can help me out here (even though I'm fairly certain it's ~not~ cooling related right now).

About 18 months ago, I had the water pump replaced, along with the serpentine belt. Never had any issues with overheating in all this time, but the temperature gauge would creep up to about 1/4 away from 'hot' whenever I'd first get going down the road, then back to pretty much dead centre or just a hair below.

Over the past week, the temp gauge would do its thing, then it would drop to almost nothing, only registering whenever I was in stop & go traffic, then dropping again whenever I got moving.

On my long-distance drive this weekend, I noticed the gauge creep up to the standard 'hot'-ish temperature while I was driving, then back down to just ~above~ nominal and it stayed there. I made sure there was fluid in the radiator (it was a little low, but no visible leakage) before I headed back today, but about 150 miles into the trip, the temp gauge started going up and stayed there. It never entered the red, and the warning light never came on.