Advertisements
Dude, are you kidding?

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rob342

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 Apr 2012, 04:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Dude, are you kidding?

I'm fixing a 2002 pt for a poor couple at my church pro bono. I'm not a mechanic by trade, just fixed alot of cars thru the years. Car had a blown head gasket. Installed timing belt & water pump. Checked the timing marks when installing belt, reassembled parts up to intake & decided to do a compression test. Average of 30 lbs per cylinder. Aarrgghh!!!!!! Could the belt have jumped after it was installed with tension? Any shortcuts besides tearing down again? I need a miracle...
Old 15 Apr 2012, 04:20 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Dude, are you kidding?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stooby View Post
I'm fixing a 2002 pt for a poor couple at my church pro bono. I'm not a mechanic by trade, just fixed alot of cars thru the years. Car had a blown head gasket. Installed timing belt & water pump. Checked the timing marks when installing belt, reassembled parts up to intake & decided to do a compression test. Average of 30 lbs per cylinder. Aarrgghh!!!!!! Could the belt have jumped after it was installed with tension? Any shortcuts besides tearing down again? I need a miracle...
Sorry no shortcuts I know of.

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com
Old 15 Apr 2012, 06:08 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Quote:
my friend owns a shop so i did mine there. when i got to that part he threw it on there because those like to move as the belt goes on. IIRC they don't line up perfect when it's on correctly.