Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
PT won't get out of second gear afyer I changed the timing belt on it

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01 May 2012, 08:16 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default PT won't get out of second gear afyer I changed the timing belt on it

I have been messing with this car for 5 months now. Reading the books tearing it apart to do t he timing belt. I love my car changed the motor mounts water pump the pulleys and tensioners and the belts. I work third shift so had to do it on my weekends hubby couldn't really help. well got the car together runs great in park but when I took it up on the highway she kicks into second hard and won't shift up. I am hoping I didn't do any damage when jacking up and down the engine really want her on the road since I got a new fender for her and light housing please any ideas would be great.
Old 01 May 2012, 09:12 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: PT won't get out of second gear afyer I changed the timing belt on it

Tracy,

I'm no mechanic, in fact you sound more like one than I'll ever be, but the tranny shouldn't have anything to do with what work you've done. You either knocked something loose or off, maybe of the trans solenoid or some vacuum line when the car was jacked up. Are there any codes showing up or does the engine light come on to show there's a problem? Did you have the battery disconnected while doing all the work? If not, resetting the computer by disconnecting it now might help, couldn't hurt.

Hopefully someone will come along and give you some other advice.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Old 01 May 2012, 09:49 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: PT won't get out of second gear afyer I changed the timing belt on it