PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
head problem?

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 May 2012, 09:42 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Question head problem?

Would like to get some thoughts on a problem. I have a 2002 cruiser with the 2.4l with a 604 transmission. There is dtc po303 misfire cyl. 3. I replaced plugs,wires,coil and fuel inj. for #3 cyl. Code is still there. Done a compression test on that cyl. and it was only around 90. The other ones was around 180 to 190. I have been told that its a head problem.The car has just over 125k.This started out with rough idle at a stop in gear every now and then, but ran fine once moving. I never have had a overheating problem, only some oil usage every so often. When i got the car i was told that the water pump and timing belt had been replaced but don't know for sure. I rebuild transmissions for a living now for about 28 years, but when it comes to this I know my limitations. Any thoughts on this I would appreciate.
Old 03 May 2012, 09:59 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: head problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellfin300 View Post
Would like to get some thoughts on a problem. I have a 2002 cruiser with the 2.4l with a 604 transmission. There is dtc po303 misfire cyl. 3. I replaced plugs,wires,coil and fuel inj. for #3 cyl. Code is still there. Done a compression test on that cyl. and it was only around 90. The other ones was around 180 to 190. I have been told that its a head problem.The car has just over 125k.This started out with rough idle at a stop in gear every now and then, but ran fine once moving. I never have had a overheating problem, only some oil usage every so often. When i got the car i was told that the water pump and timing belt had been replaced but don't know for sure. I rebuild transmissions for a living now for about 28 years, but when it comes to this I know my limitations. Any thoughts on this I would appreciate.