PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2009 pt cruiser vibrates at idle... ive read all the posts. im stumped. help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Jul 2012, 05:48 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default 2009 pt cruiser vibrates at idle... ive read all the posts. im stumped. help!

ok so im stumped.

i have 2009 non-turbo 2.4.

i have read all the threads on this forum regarding this issue and it seems that have some of one problem and some of another. so here it is... i will try to be thorough in my explanation... but i am no expert so bare with me!

when i start the car it idles perfectly for about 30 seconds at about 800 to 900 rpms. then it bogs down and begins to idle at about 600 rpms. my ac blows ice cold at idle and the radiator fan functions normally. for the last 6 months i've been trying to get to the bottom of this.

upon my first inspection my torque struts were shot and needed replacement. had them replaced. still a vibration.

next i had new spark plugs put in.
still a vibration.

so just for kicks i checked the torque struts myself.
they were torqued at 40 ft lbs!!! i tightened them.

next i fired my mechanic and decided to devote what free time i had into fixing this.

new pcv valve. still a vibration.

next i cleaned my idle air control motor. still a vibration. so i replaced it. still a vibration.

tested my map sensor. functions like it should.

so here i am. stumped.

i have a new air filter in as well.

today i was messing around with it and noticed if i put the car in neutral the vibration gets dramatically better.

i read somewhere that a faulty transmission mount could be the culprit. is there any truth to this?

maybe my battery is going?
i dunno...

let me know what you think.

thanks

justin
Old 18 Nov 2012, 08:23 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: 2009 pt cruiser vibrates at idle... ive read all the posts. im stumped. help!