'02 Engine rattle, error codes, runs rough

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By UptownSport

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28 Jul 2012, 05:09 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default '02 Engine rattle, error codes, runs rough

Hi all,

I am new to the PT Cruiser world, recently acquired an '02 (2.4L, N/A).

I acquired it because the previous owner had been told by their mechanic that the car needed the water pump / timing belt replaced at a cost of over $1,200. The previous owner opted to buy a new car instead.

I know this is a big job on these cars, but I'm pretty well versed in the world of mechanics and have been spinning wrenches for quite a few moons, so no problems there. When I received the car, all the previous repair receipts came with it, and I found that the water pump and timing belt had been changed out just 30,000 miles prior. You should get a lot more milage out of a new waterpump than that (althoug I have seen the pictures of the grenaded 20,000 mile pump someone posted).

The bigger issue at the moment is a very loud rattling noise coming from the engine when driving. The noise is not present while idling in the driveway, it only becomes apparent (and very loud) while in motion and under load. It sounds exactly like one of those old 70's diesel Mercedes sedans.

I took started it up today and took it around the neighborhood to take some video of the car while idling and while driving. Upon returning home and pulling into the driveway, it sputtered and died. It generated two error codes, P1684 (battery reset in last 50 cycles, no biggie), and P0172 (Fuel, bank 1 running rich).

I initially thought the noise might be a bad rod knock, or valve clatter due to a stuck lash adjuster. Now, the more I think about it, it sounds exactly like detonation. The P0172 error code seems to support that.

I have uploaded videos of the car idling and driving to YouTube for you to hear.

Idling :