PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
obd work on base model car? rough idle

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07 Aug 2012, 09:34 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Default obd work on base model car? rough idle

I'm not bright...but on/off/on/off/on seems like something I should be able to handle.
I tried on/off/on/off/on and on/off/on/off/on/off/on for good measure...
I tried acc/off/acc/off/acc and acc/off/acc/off/acc/off/acc for the sake of being thorough...
I went fast, I went slow, I took the key out...

I know that on my 2009 base model I don't have some of the computer options that others have. Is OBD one of them?

I've got a rough idle and I'm trying to see if there are any codes (no engine light is illuminated).

I'm pretty sure I've got fan issues, but I'm not sure its just fan issues.
- Car doesn't overheat (yet). My wife is the driver...it was only after I drove it this weekend did I discover these issues...she doesn't think it has overheated...
- Very rough idle/tries to die with AC on. I think the AC may have over-pressure vented at a stoplight.
- Not-smooth idle with AC off.
- Fan was on high speed (I think) when I checked it this afternoon with AC on...rough idle.
- Tonight, fan did not come on when AC was turned on. It turned on momentarily, but immediately spun down. I let the car idle and the temp gauge went to mid-range, but fan did not come on either with or without AC on.
- This surfaced within 100 miles after I did a tune up. New plugs, blue wires. I know correlation does not imply causation, but nevertheless, I pulled the plugs (looked fine) and replaced them with another brand. No effect.
- Tach reads about 800 rpm at idle, but feels lower...where can I hook my timing light and verify with it's tach?
- I cleaned the TB when I did my tune up...wondering if I didn't damage a sensor somehow. (non-california emissions car).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07 Aug 2012, 10:10 pm
JenneK's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Island of Maui
Posts: 275
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

SO you checked and rechecked all the vacuum lines, right? Cause when you did your plugs, you pulled the intake off?

What kind of wires did you use?

BTW, OBDII is on every car after 96. However, maybe the 09 models don't give you the ability to retrieve codes? Maybe DC omitted that function with the new CANbus system in 06? I dunno...
__________________
Ken posting about his Jenny's car.

01 w/JBA headers, Borla catback, Airaid intake, lowered, purple with shiny wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08 Aug 2012, 05:44 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

-Vacuum lines. Think so. Non-cali emissions car, so there's only a big one in back (brakes?) and a medium one on the drivers side.
- Wires. Mopar performance blue. Cross refs with Neon.
- I'm thinking the OBD may be omitted from the cockpit display...I can't access some of the normal settings that the owners manual says I should be able to.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08 Aug 2012, 07:42 am
Ray_Dockrey's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mustang, OK
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

They all have the capability of pulling codes. The key sequence has to be done within a five second period. My 2009 is the base and it will pull the codes. It always takes me a few tries to get it. If anything take it down to a parts store and see if they can pull the codes. Most of the major ones will.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08 Aug 2012, 08:08 am
UptownSport's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 55403
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

The standard was a law passed by congress, I understand.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08 Aug 2012, 11:31 am
767skyking's Avatar
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Inland Empire Ca
Posts: 754
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

Hard to diagnose without seeing... does the engine rock back and forth? Might be your upper and lower mounts.
__________________
The "Three Amigos" (And Growing)
Performace, Body and Service, OEM
"Team Amigos FREE Parts!! PM me for details!!

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10 Aug 2012, 09:30 am
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 745
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by JenneK View Post
Maybe DC omitted that function with the new CANbus system in 06? I dunno...
Nope, the key dance works fine on my '10.

OP, the only functions you'll have on a base model will odometer and trip odometer (maybe outside temp too). You won't get those other functions you're reading about (mpg, timer, distance to empty) unless you have a full DVIC, such as in a touring or limited model.

But everyone is correct. All cars can do the key dance. You're just making a mistake somewhere.
__________________
-Chris
2010 PT Cruiser Classic, Deep Water Blue
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10 Aug 2012, 09:40 am
Ray_Dockrey's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mustang, OK
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by heifetz17 View Post
Nope, the key dance works fine on my '10.

OP, the only functions you'll have on a base model will odometer and trip odometer (maybe outside temp too). You won't get those other functions you're reading about (mpg, timer, distance to empty) unless you have a full DVIC, such as in a touring or limited model.

But everyone is correct. All cars can do the key dance. You're just making a mistake somewhere.
Actually you do get those functions with the base. What you don't get is the extra settings like being able to set when the lights come on or off with the remote, how long they stay on, and you don't get the tire pressue monitor extra settings where you can read each tire. Also it doesn't tell you what radio station you are tuned to. But what you listed above you do get.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by heifetz17 View Post
But everyone is correct. All cars can do the key dance. You're just making a mistake somewhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_Dockrey View Post
They all have the capability of pulling codes. The key sequence has to be done within a five second period. My 2009 is the base and it will pull the codes. It always takes me a few tries to get it. If anything take it down to a parts store and see if they can pull the codes. Most of the major ones will.
Correct. I had the sequence right, but I didn't have the rhythm I suppose...finally got it to work. No codes. Just dashes and then dOne.

I replaced the fan and most of the roughness is gone...still smoother when it has some rpm.

I am certain that the AC vented refrigerant when I was at a stoplight prior to the repair. I looked at the hoses and none look burst so I'm assuming it was from what I think is the overpressure port on the bottom of the compressor. The AC blows cold air now. So, should I recharge the system? Any issue with just adding r134a? Should I add any Pag 46? I have a single gauge/port hose that I used to add refrigerant to my truck a couple of months ago. It worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10 Aug 2012, 02:12 pm
cruserdad1976's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: st james mo
Posts: 8,217
Default Re: obd work on base model car? rough idle

if its good and cold just leave it be you didnt vent that much and adding to much is as bad as not enough
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converting base model to gt? jamie_hildebrand General Turbo Discussions 6 08 Jun 2012 09:06 pm
Double Din in 08 base model dwt83 Sound and Security Forum 2 29 Nov 2010 08:34 am
Parting Out 2005 PT Cruiser base base model taftboys Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 9 07 Oct 2010 07:13 pm
Rough Idle, Rough @60, check engine light NEW Dystroy Tech & Performance Forum 8 12 Jan 2009 09:07 pm
2005 PT Base Model PT Jimmy James Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 3 22 Nov 2005 01:48 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors