Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Avg motor temp?

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Dec 2012, 10:11 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Avg motor temp?

What is the average temp for pt? My temp gauge stay in the middle of the gauge, will sometimes go down I little then goes back to half way.
Old 12 Dec 2012, 10:41 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Avg motor temp?

that is what mine does all is good til it goes to the red
Old 12 Dec 2012, 11:42 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Cool thanks. I'm new to pt's so trying to get as much info as I can.
Old 13 Dec 2012, 10:24 am
Fanatic Cruiser

Mine doesn't even quite get to the middle. Mine stays at about the 3/8 mark.
Old 13 Dec 2012, 11:19 am
Senior Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthmactis View Post
What is the average temp for pt? My temp gauge stay in the middle of the gauge, will sometimes go down I little then goes back to half way.
This is normal when its cold out. She'll stay in the middle exactly in the summer because the coolant thats in the radiator doesnt get that cool.

In the winter what happens is you have the coolant in the engine which rises to a certain temp, when the engine gets hot enough, the thermostat opens which lets cooler coolant in the radiator pass into the engine, thus dropping the engine temp *which you can see in the gauge*. Then THAT coolant heats up again causing the temp needle to rise back up. During this process the coolant in the radiator *getting slammed by cold air constantly* gets colder, thus when the thermostat opens again, cold coolant is re-introduced into the engine causing it to fall.

Only time you have an issue is if it is below the 1/4 mark, which signifies a stuck open thermostat, or too much coolant in the 50/50 mix. Or when it goes above 1/2 which signifies a stuck shut thermostat, bad coolant, too much water in the coolant, air in the system or a malfunctioning radiator
Old 13 Dec 2012, 01:11 pm