Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Dumb questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Dec 2012, 11:40 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Dumb questions.

New to the forum, but not new to the car. Bought the base model, AT 2.4l in 2005. No major problems with it, other than transmission shudder while accelerating. Of course it started just after the warranty expired, so I have been living with it for a while. I just keep a light foot on it. It now has over 134k miles on it. I have heard stories about the timing belt, I have read some of the posts here. It sounds like you almost have to pull the engine to get to it. I believe that Chrysler recommends replacing it at 100k, so it's due to break soon.
I am not a mechanic, so taking it to the shop is my only option.

Dumb question #1. Should I combine transmission repair and timing belt replacement while it's in the shop?

Dumb question #2. What other things should be swapped out with the belt? I've read that doing a tune up with better plugs and wires help with mileage, so add them in with rest of the job? Please give me the need to have, nice to have, and want to have.

Dumb question #3. How long should the job take? Billable hours/actual days in the shop?

Dumb question #4. I have been averaging 22 mpg (mixed city/freeway), so would those plugs/wires make a major difference?
Old 23 Dec 2012, 11:56 pm
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: Dumb questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbot View Post