Advertisements
erratic idle

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By dextv

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Feb 2013, 07:09 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Unhappy erratic idle

hey, i've been reading the forum for a couple of months, but this is my first post. i am experiencing rough idle. i recently bought a 2001 pt cruiser with 5 speed with 78,000 miles. i took it to a shop before i bought it and knew it needed some things replaced, but nothing urgent. 2 months and everything is fine. 2 weeks ago, when i cranked it, the idle was high and erratic. when i touch the accelerator, the idle jumps from 1500 to over 2500, gradually comes down, but still erratic. i spent days going thru the forum, looking for help. i'm not a seasoned mechanic, but i'm on a budget. i cleaned the iac (a real challenge), checked the map sensor, checked pcv valve, replaced pcv hose (badly cracked), cleaned throttle body. for days, no check engine light, then, yesterday, after i cleaned the throttle body, the check engine light came on. i figured it was because of the throttle body cleaner. but the codes are (not in order) 0171, 1684, 0123, 1193. last year the previous owner replaced the timing belt and water pump.
today, i cleared the codes and restarted the engine (still idling high and rough) and rechecked the engine codes..... only a 1684 now-- which is because i disconnected the battery to clear the old codes....
i tried to upload a video of the idle but get invalid file when i try to post video or link to url....
any help is appreciated...
Old 26 Feb 2013, 09:08 pm
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: erratic idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by dextv View Post