PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
resetting codes

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 03:23 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Question resetting codes

Ok this might be a stupid question. But I don't know the exact answer.
I have done the 'key dance' and repaired what ever might have been wrong. And maybe the check engine light isn't coming on any more. Maybe it is. But what I want to know is how exactly to RESET to where no codes are showing up from past times. I know that it has a memory of old codes. I just don't know how to reset it. So that if I have a new problem come up, then it might not show the OLD codes too.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 03:42 am
Ray_Dockrey's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mustang, OK
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: resetting codes

Unhook the battery for about ten minutes. That will do it. Now after you that a code will be set in memory that shows the battery being disconnected but it won't set the light.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 09:18 am
2step's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Braunfels, Texas.
Posts: 1,672
Default Re: resetting codes

Ray_Dockery is correct. The code memory system is designed to retain the trouble code for a while. This is so an owner can get him/herself to a mechanic and the code can be called up even if the issue has been a temporary one. Codes will also self clear after a certain amount of restarts if the problem is fixed. Codes can also be cleared with a good quality code reader/scanner.

Say you make a complete repair because you have to pass an emissions inspection right away. If you simply clear with the battery disconnect, you may still fail to pass if the "disconnect" code is still stored. This is to prevent owners from clearing unrepaired emissions problems right before an inspection.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 07:46 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Talking Re: resetting codes

well I put on my second O2 Sensor yesterday. The first one I bought was a Bosch and I have read on here that they won't work right for the PT Cruiser for some reason or another. And it didn't. So I put on a NTK one last night. And drove it for like five minutes. And the light was still on. But today the light hasn't came on and I have probably started like 10-15 times and went like 50 miles. So I guess I won't have to disconnect the battery. I will do the 'key dance' tomorrow to see if the codes are still stored for the O2 Sensor or not.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dash codes--not the usual OBD codes--help! chitowncruiser General PT Cruiser Discussions 5 01 Mar 2013 11:56 pm
Codes, codes, codes... Desperately need engine light help... cdc3jj General PT Cruiser Discussions 9 01 Sep 2012 07:52 am
CODES codes codes... Anyone know what these codes may mean are wrong? rksnow1 Tech & Performance Forum 10 16 Jun 2012 11:06 pm
04 PT CODES?? NEW PC.. drumrooster Tech & Performance Forum 3 06 Aug 2011 04:35 pm
Added Ipod cable, car computer keeps resetting paradyne64 Sound and Security Forum 10 16 Sep 2009 10:52 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors