• 1 Post By rob342
  • 1 Post By rob342
  • 1 Post By rob342

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Apr 2013, 08:56 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default I know....another brake thread.

Good evening,

Its been a while since I have been on here, hope everyone is doing well these days. My 06 N/A Limited is doing ok I guess for car that just went "where not many American cars have gone before" over 100,000, lol.

Kidding aside...I do have a genuine issue that is plaguing PT, and still being the only car in my family, its hindering my efforts to go places and I need yall's assistance. My front brakes are quite worn and I have rotors and pads on the way later this month, but I am having another issue, if at all, that is hurting my stopping power. I have noticed it takes a great deal of brake pedal travel to stop the car. Being an mechanic myself (U.S. Air force C-17) I understand it could simply be worn pads...but since a few months ago I have noticed that the car sometimes idles low when you press the pedal, especially when you have to go further down to the floor. I understand as well that this excessive pedal travel does put strain on the engine, but when in Idle tonight in park, I tried pressing the pedal multiple times to let it build up pressure in the pedal...but I got nothing. The idle did rise some during the continuing pressing, but soon dropped to 500 rpm and the car started to shake as it does in low idle.

I searched multiple pages on the forum concerning brake issued but found none linked to my situation. Could it be a bad master cylinder? I see no issues around it. I checked my vac hoses as many others have stated and all mine are secure and dry.

Thanks guys and gals for the insight.

-Dave.
Old 09 Apr 2013, 10:03 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: I know....another brake thread.