PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Source for Throttle Body wire harness

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12 Apr 2013, 06:43 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 86
Default Source for Throttle Body wire harness

After the battery ordeal, I came across another "surprise".

It seems my PT started giving me a pending code warning. I looked it up and it's an idle issue code which makes sense as at times the idle has been very rough.

Well to make a long story short, as most of you know I haven't had much time lately to spend working on the PT. Anyway, since I had a minute yesterday, I stopped at an auto parts store that I trust to check the charging system as it's always nice to get a second (or third or more) opinion. Especially when they have the tools to check it out.

Anyway, while checking it out and discussing the idle issue, we determined two things. One my Ultra Gauge picked up the pending code while the stores scanner didn't.

And two, the wiring to the Throttle Body was zip tied to the Throttle Body. It seems that someone had broken the clips and used a zip tie to hold it which explained the rough idle some times and not others.

So now, I'm going to need to either replace the connector or the wiring. The parts store didn't have that harness so the options are dealer, or junk yard. What I'd like to know is has anyone else changed that wiring, and how big a PIA is it. And does anyone know if it's even still available at a dealer, or do I have to go to the boneyard.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12 Apr 2013, 06:51 am
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: darien il
Posts: 4,592
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Is it the connector for the IAC or the TPS?

here is the TPS connector. fits some years.
http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/rafr...partnum=1P1692
you should add some info to your signature to give us a clue what you drive.

personally, if it were my car, i'd take the terminals out of the connector and close them up a little bit so they fit tighter before spending $30 on the connector

Last edited by rob342; 12 Apr 2013 at 08:46 am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12 Apr 2013, 10:39 am
UptownSport's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 55403
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Go to useful documents in my signature.

Download a parts manual- there's a link at end of electrical section for connectors.

I have many, many used Neon connectors, most are the same
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12 Apr 2013, 11:42 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Thanks UptownSport

rob342 based on the link UptownSport posted it appears to be the one on the TPS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13 Apr 2013, 11:37 am
767skyking's Avatar
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Inland Empire Ca
Posts: 754
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Hokie...
Take a pix of the connector. I might be able to get one for you. If you need, PM me.
__________________
The "Three Amigos" (And Growing)
Performace, Body and Service, OEM
"Team Amigos FREE Parts!! PM me for details!!

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2013, 08:12 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by 767skyking View Post
Hokie...
Take a pix of the connector. I might be able to get one for you. If you need, PM me.
Ok I will as soon as I get a bit of time. It's been a bit crazy here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18 Apr 2013, 08:45 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

The connector I need is the one on the TB towards the firewall.

The picture isn't that great. If you need a better one, I'll take one tomorrow with my dSLR. This one was in the dark with an iPhone.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18 Apr 2013, 08:53 pm
767skyking's Avatar
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Inland Empire Ca
Posts: 754
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Ok Hokie, I will check and see if If I have that one. I will PM you.
__________________
The "Three Amigos" (And Growing)
Performace, Body and Service, OEM
"Team Amigos FREE Parts!! PM me for details!!

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18 Apr 2013, 08:55 pm
767skyking's Avatar
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Inland Empire Ca
Posts: 754
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Btw, how long of a wire do you need off the connector?
__________________
The "Three Amigos" (And Growing)
Performace, Body and Service, OEM
"Team Amigos FREE Parts!! PM me for details!!

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18 Apr 2013, 09:13 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Source for Throttle Body wire harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by 767skyking View Post
Btw, how long of a wire do you need off the connector?
Ideally, I'd like to pop the pins out and put them in the new connector. If not, then enough to make good splices.

BTW, thanks for the offer. I really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 adding new stereo, wire harness, no sound. cotonymopar Sound and Security Forum 16 06 May 2013 12:45 pm
2005 camsensor wire harness replacement? mojeb21 Tech & Performance Forum 4 03 Oct 2012 08:58 pm
New wire harness kit has 2 constant and 2 grounds? fishkiller12672 Sound and Security Forum 4 28 Oct 2011 10:36 am
wire harness for new head unit ckanders General PT Cruiser Discussions 3 28 Mar 2007 03:31 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors