PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Rough idle and high speed stumble / surge

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Apr 2013, 04:11 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Rough idle and high speed stumble / surge

Hi all,
Hoping to shed some light on this PT's problem. Its a 2005 Touring non turbo, auto trans. It has 70,000 miles on it. Got it at 40,000 and within 6 months replaced the motor mounts and torque struts and had a corroded + battery cable that needed a new end. A couple weeks ago I got it back from my daughter (was a loaner for a few months) and noticed that it had a bit of vibration at idle and what appeared to be a slight water drip out of the WP area. The mileage was poor (under 20 Mpg) The lower pass side torque strut was toast again and I decided that it was time to do a tune up and timing belt / water pump replacement. BTW, I have 35 years experience in the auto repair field and am an excellent and very thorough mechanic.