Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
I need help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16 Apr 2013, 04:27 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default I need help

Hi there, I am a new driver, this would be my first car and I am being offered a 2003 PT Cruiser with 60K miles on it for 4500 dollars.... I am supposed to go see it today, but the problem is this would be the third PT Cruiser I would be taking to a mechanic to see and I am just not sure about it anymore.

The first two cruisers I took to a mechanic were being sold by reputable dealerships and they were complete lemons according to my mechanic, one needed almost 3000 dollars in repairs, the second one was structurally unsafe and needed tons of money in repairs.

This third PT cruiser is being sold by a private owner, but I am almost to the point of giving up on PT Cruisers, I don't want to continue spending money in these cars if they just aren't good. I've also heard the timing belt is very expensive to replace and at 60K miles I imagine this Cruiser will need it done soon.

I just don't know what to do anymore, should I give up and try to get myself something else? Any thoughts?.....
Old 16 Apr 2013, 07:05 am
Banned

Default Re: I need help

Yeah same thing here, dealer tried to sell my wife a 07 pt with 37k that needed 1700 dollars of work on it. Had them fix it first then we bought it.

It may help to know what the issues are, ours was the cooling fan needed to be replaced cause it wasn't blowing cold air ac at idle and it was rough at idle.

The front end needed some things replaced too, which we could hear by its sound.

The mechanic is giving you the list, take it back to the dealer and have them look at it and fix or lower the price. They may refuse hoping to sell it to a less thorough person.

Oh and timing belt is at 100k

My wife has owned hers two years now since with 55k with no issues since prior to purchase.

Good luck