PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Grinding noise, shakes the whole car? Windshield wiper fluid? Antifreeze?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22 Jan 2014, 03:44 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Grinding noise, shakes the whole car? Windshield wiper fluid? Antifreeze?

Hi guys, I am new here and will apologize in advance if I am posting in the wrong section or something of the sort.

I'm a college student and know next to nothing about cars, so please take it easy on me. Background info: I bought an 07 PT back in May with about 84k on it. I have general maintenance records from the first few years that the first owner had it, no big repairs. It's clearly been in at least a fender bender, as the front bumper is mostly held on with zip ties... (not as terrible as it sounds, I swear.)

The car has ran great the entire time I've had it, but recently I've been having a few problems. I am a very broke girl and do not have much money to take it somewhere to be fixed. I'm just wondering if anyone could help try to diagnose what could be causing any of these things, and if they are a cheap fix.

1) The car has recently started shaking terribly when I turn it on, and making an awful grinding noise. It also grinds when backing up and sometimes when idling. (Could be due to temperature, but it's not just a little shaking or grinding. AWFUL noise, did not do this when I bought it.) I've been told the shaking could be due to the engine mount but does that explain the grinding? If possible, I could probably get a video of it on here if it would help.

2) The windshield wiper fluid hasn't come out on my front window since I bought it. Kind of a pain in the winter.