Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2001 pt cruiser wont fire at all

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Jan 2014, 02:52 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Question 2001 pt cruiser wont fire at all

im no super mechanic but my buddy is..this is what has been replaced with brand new parts,,camshaft sesor,crankshaft sensor,timing belt,egr sensor
pcm has been flashed..new plugs and had them laid out in front of me and watched each one spark,,same with the fuel rail ,,took it off and with everything still connected watched each injector spray at least 4 times
,new battery..ive checked compression and all around 150 lbs and timing belt is new+++

went thru the book and have checked everything that the Haynes book said could keep it from starting ..still nothing

right be fore it died I heard what sounded like a gas knock or when you get bad gas..kind of a rattle.and that only happened when I step on gas or went up a hill..and would run better if I took off a major air line off and then it would run much better..not perfect but it didn't die

so if anyone can point me in a direction that I haven't gone done ..please drop me a line
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 011.jpg (85.8 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 009.jpg (87.5 KB, 8 views)
Old 23 Jan 2014, 04:53 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: 2001 pt cruiser wont fire at all

So when you say it won't fire, you mean the engine will turn but there are no signs of ignition at all? It doesn't hit some and misfire?

Also, when you say you had the ECM "flashed", what did you have done and why did you do that? In your list of things, you didn't mention the cam sensor magnet. Are you sure that was installed on the end of the new camshaft? And are there any trouble codes?

PS: Welcome to the forum!

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 23 Jan 2014 at 04:56 pm.
Old 23 Jan 2014, 05:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser