PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 03:53 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: N.J.
Posts: 181
Default CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

the guy at auto-zone said if i gap iridium plugs they'll mis-fire i have 1 stage colder cause im gonna tune her to hell, and i thought she needed 40 gap, they come 50 gap????? please help asap im doing this job now, i can do rad flush/t stat swap to kill time, but i have to tune up today, thanks guys
__________________
2005 PT CRUISER GT

Semper Fidelis!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 04:05 pm
randyincctx's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi,Tx.
Posts: 3,485
Lightbulb Re: CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
the guy at auto-zone said if i gap iridium plugs they'll mis-fire
Rule #1: "Don't believe everything the guys(or girls)@ A/Z tell you"....
That's a new one on me?(maybe I'm wrong)......I do know you really shouldn't use cheapy 'coin-style' gappers,or even feeler-gauges.....But,I thought any plug is gappable?(They gap them @ the S/P factory)
The best thing to use are 'gapping-pliers',especially on Platinum or Iridium,because to use anything less can bend or break the electrode.
Here is what I recommend for use on any spark plugs(very accurate & no damage!):
Accel 380700 Accel Spark Plug Gapping Pliers - Free Shipping on All Orders @ JEGS
You can find them cheaper,I just used that as an example.......


Found this from DENSO:
http://densoiridium.com/installationguide.php
__________________
2003 PT Cruiser (Base-N/A) Patriot Blue Pearl Purchased @ Police Impound Auction for $1,000.
Aka:~KILLER~

Last edited by randyincctx; 05 Apr 2014 at 04:11 pm. Reason: Added info.....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 05:47 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,808
Default Re: CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
the guy at auto-zone said if i gap iridium plugs they'll mis-fire i have 1 stage colder cause im gonna tune her to hell, and i thought she needed 40 gap, they come 50 gap????? please help asap im doing this job now, i can do rad flush/t stat swap to kill time, but i have to tune up today, thanks guys
IMO you should have stayed with stock heat range! "Performance tuning, also means doing spark plug evaluation before changing things like heat ranges and deciding on a gap. The democracy of suggested spark plug gap is not indicative to ones personal driving habits,condition of the engine and other modes directly effecting how spark plug will perform in the engine.
I would leave the gap as they came out of the box unless there is one by checking them is off from the others. It is very easy to damage the plug if you are not experienced in gaping those type.

It is always a good idea to learn to properly gap plug on a set of old ones. Learn how to get good 90 degree angles.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 06:00 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 5,324
Default Re: CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

Also here's a note on spark plug gaps - Say start the gap at 45, run idle when warm, do some minor drive testing, see how it runs. Then close the gap to 35, see how that works. What I do is go back and forth to find the best performance for my plugs, and normally you need the engine hot and running idle so that you can get a better feel for how well it's idling.

Personally, I think sometimes those expensive plugs are just that, expensive. I don't see a lot of gain from them. If it's a turbo engine, you definitely want plugs that don't overheat - good solid cold plugs is what you want.

Mind you, this is all my opinion, which is just general common-sense. That is how I work on my car and why it got upped to 341 hp, 365 lb ft torque!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 08:35 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: N.J.
Posts: 181
Default Re: CANT GAP IRIDIUM PLUGS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Also here's a note on spark plug gaps - Say start the gap at 45, run idle when warm, do some minor drive testing, see how it runs. Then close the gap to 35, see how that works. What I do is go back and forth to find the best performance for my plugs, and normally you need the engine hot and running idle so that you can get a better feel for how well it's idling.

Personally, I think sometimes those expensive plugs are just that, expensive. I don't see a lot of gain from them. If it's a turbo engine, you definitely want plugs that don't overheat - good solid cold plugs is what you want.

Mind you, this is all my opinion, which is just general common-sense. That is how I work on my car and why it got upped to 341 hp, 365 lb ft torque!!
lucky you, thats EXACTLY where i wanna be, my goal is 400hp at the tires!!!
__________________
2005 PT CRUISER GT

Semper Fidelis!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NGK iridium spark plugs chromer don Tech & Performance Forum 10 14 Jun 2011 12:44 pm
iridium plugs??? DARK270 Stage Turbo Kits 28 17 Jan 2010 04:02 pm
Champion Iridium Plugs rszappa1 Tech & Performance Forum 5 06 Feb 2006 08:09 am
Iridium Plugs luvmypt Tech & Performance Forum 9 19 Jul 2004 12:16 pm
Denso Iridium Plugs gsharrock Turbo Performance 2 22 Jun 2003 09:09 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors