PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
That infamous gurgling from under the hood

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 May 2014, 03:03 am
Cool Cruiser

Default That infamous gurgling from under the hood

Oh boy. it has begun. Sound is just awful really, really makes one think the car is about to blow up it's so loud.

So after reading around, the answers are just endless.

So, i checked to see if fan is working fine and it is, but the car loses coolant fast with no signs of leakage. I bled the system, next thing is the radiator cap, though it seemed to look alright, but I am no expert. Mechanics here just charge a fortune outright for looking at this car.

The gurgling sound comes at times and the temp gauge moves up past 3 o clock but then it settles and comes back down fine.

I am reading about cracked head gaskets could cause the issue, but is there any other symptom which this would give off if this is the case?

Old 17 May 2014, 06:39 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: That infamous gurgling from under the hood

Thermostat.
Low coolant
Clogged radiator
high speed of fan not working

You said fan works - is it VERY noisy? If it isn't that's the low speed - your high speed could have died.
Check hose from radiator to coolant bottle -it may have a split.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 17 May 2014, 06:48 am
Obsessed Cruiser