PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
California, California

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Apr 2004, 07:54 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default California, California

Hello all,

I am new to the performance arena. I was looking into the Hahn Turbocharger kit but its not street legal here in California.. I like the fact that the Hahn kits were upgradable for future add ons. So my only option now is a whipple supercharger. The guy from Whipple told me that I don't have to add anything to the engine for more performance and if I didn't it could affect the supercharger. Any of you guys already go threw this setup? How do you like your whipple?

Thanks,

Donny
Old 20 Apr 2004, 08:13 pm
Regular Cruiser

Why is it not street legal? Emissions?
Anyway, i have the Whipple on my 2001. I love it. It took quite a lot of work to tune and get the upgrades from Whipple, but it is definitely a lot quicker than stock. I got it dynoed and didn't get what they quote,220, but it was close.
Whipple Supercharger, BTG springs, Tokico shocks/struts, B&M short shifter, chrome GT 17" wheels, darkened tail lights, Chrome Grille, fuel door and vent knobs, painted bumpers, mirrors, airdam and center console, cueball shifter, Polk audio system w/ XM, Magnaflow muffler
Old 20 Apr 2004, 08:17 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Pat1USMC

Why is it not street legal? Emissions?
Anyway, i have the Whipple on my 2001. I love it. It took quite a lot of work to tune and get the upgrades from Whipple, but it is definitely a lot quicker than stock. I got it dynoed and didn't get what they quote,220, but it was close.
Hey Pat,

Yeah, the hahn kit can't get smogged. He said they don't sell enought kits for PT Cruisers to make a special one for california What did you have to get tuned? What upgrades do they have or did you get?

Thanks,

Donny
Old 20 Apr 2004, 10:10 pm
Regular Cruiser