PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
A general comment about the PT Cruiser

Like Tree33Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Aug 2014, 06:47 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default A general comment about the PT Cruiser

All I can say is that I am amazed that the PT Cruiser is the hardest car to work on that I have ever encountered. I WAS a licensed mechanic, but quit the trade as it is a thankless profession. No one ever said thank you, and if there was one thing that was not 100% right, the bitching went on for hours. Who needs it?
That said, Chrysler designed a car that I would compare to stuffing 10 Lbs of S--T in a 5Lb bag.
I have 38,000.00 miles on my Convert, and there is a strange noise that "could be" the belt tensioner, or the PS pulley?
I figured I would replace it, and I have the belt and water pump which I bought ages ago just to have on hand, so may as well do the whole 9 yards.
I started to review the removal and installation process, and it's hard to believe what you need to do. The air condition evacuation was the topper!
I already replaced the Turbo, and just try getting to that baby. 3 inches of room to the firewall, and flying blind. Change the spark plugs is a treat, and the list goes on.
I think I will burn the thing to the ground.
The best thing I can say, is it's "cute" but I can understand why some of the outrageous bills people are paying to fix a $10.00 part.
Anyway, I am just venting about poor design and high maintenance cost, plus the as mileage SUCKS big time. Lucky if I get 12 to 14 MPG around town, and I drive like a pussy.
Overall a real POS in my opinion.
I do like the site, as I can drown my sorrows and sympathize with other owners when they figure it out.

Last edited by bfwilson2000; 13 Aug 2014 at 06:49 pm. Reason: spelling
Old 13 Aug 2014, 07:46 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Re: A general comment about the PT Cruiser

buy another car
Old 13 Aug 2014, 08:15 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

YOU forgot to say "Thank You!"
Vlefaive likes this.