Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
A/C reads overcharged, blows hot air, compressor not engaging

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Aug 2014, 03:29 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Exclamation A/C reads overcharged, blows hot air, compressor not engaging

Hello, newbie here, but I have been reading for about a year ever since I got my 03 non-turbo.
Here is the deal for about 1 week I have been getting a burning or coolant type type smell in the cabin and around the same time the ac temp started to get warmer, mostly at start ups and after being parked.

Doing the normal tests from all the info in the treads I got gauges and tested the system (which was just normal 2 months ago) is now reading 110psi on the low side port. Armed with the info from various post I went out to get a new switch and replaced it.

I should also mention that I tested the fan relays separately and both hi and low speeds work. Up to yesterday the compressor cycled fast once the new switch was on and the psi dropped down to 35 once clutch was on and high-speed fan would follow it. I put the old switch in to test it and that started working too.

Now today Nothing, system will not start, compressor does not engage.

What can I test or consider next?? Should I start looking for a fan or compressor?? Also does the fan speed change in response to the compressor clutch or does the clutch respond to the fan, I'm lost there.
Old 30 Aug 2014, 04:09 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: A/C reads overcharged, blows hot air, compressor not engaging

Is the engine light on and if so what are the trouble codes?
Is it running low on Freon since the compressor quit working recently?
Old 30 Aug 2014, 04:25 pm
Fresh Cruiser