Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Lean Condition 171 Driving Me Nuts!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01 Sep 2014, 06:52 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Lean Condition 171 Driving Me Nuts!

Hello all. I am new to the forum. I am a lifelong mechanic, I have owned several PT Cruisers, but currently just have my wife's bone-stock 2006 touring edition. A few days ago, I was about 35 miles from home, and the car wouldn't start. It seemed to be not getting fuel, so I got a ride home, gathered lots of tools and a fuel pump and went back to change the pump in the parking lot. A bit of a pain, but not too bad, all things considered. However, because I live on a dirt road, I found a thick layer of very fine sand on top of the tank and I had no way to blow it all off. Inevitably, a pretty good bit of it went into the tank when I pulled the pump module - not good! But at that point, I wanted to get the car home. I put the new pump into the module, put everything back together, and voila - runs just like new. Well, for about 10 miles anyway. Wife and I stopped to get some food, and when she came back out, the check engine light came on. Car seemed to run fine for her going home though. I scanned the codes and got 171. But it was running fine, so I cleared the codes and proceded to drive the car. Well, about 100 miles later, I've got another 171 code and now it acts like it's starving for fuel. So, I pulled the tank again. Yep, new fuel strainer all clogged with dirt. Ooh, this is expensive - bought another fuel pump, drained all the fuel out, swished it around until it looked clean, put it all back together, and hey, runs just like a new one again. For a few days then it's back to the won't go thing. So, at this point, I'm thinking maybe I managed to get some of the sand into the line and it got to the injector screens. Soooo, I bought new injectors. I figure at 150K miles it wouldn't hurt