Advertisements
ASD Relay clicking

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rob342

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Nov 2014, 07:52 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default ASD Relay clicking

I have no idea where to go. I'm a former tech but completely lost. I have a friends 01 PT limited with 2.4 non turbo. The car ran perfect when he parked in his garage and when he came out a few minutes later the car wouldn't start. It made a hideous noise while cranking as if there was some metal contacting inside. My first thought was timing belt. But that's not the issue I'm struggling with. There was a continues fast clicking coming from the engine compartment after this. It would only stop when the battery was disconnected. It turns out that the clicking was coming from the EGR solenoid, IAC motor, and ASD relay. The ASD relay was constantly cycling on and off. With the key on, the AC and fuel pump relay also cycle like this but they stop with key off. The computer is sending the pulsing signal to the ASD (and the other 2 relays). A logic probe on the ASD ground terminal to the ECM is pulsing. WHY? It seems as though the output side of the ASD circuit is fine but what inside (or outside) the computer is involved in this circuit that might cause the cycling?

LOST
Old 09 Nov 2014, 08:01 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: ASD Relay clicking

Clicking or buzzing relays is a text book symptom for a bad ground. These cars are notorious for sensitivity to bad grounds as well as failing batteries. Check the obvious grounds as well as the hidden ones in the inner fender wells and properly test the battery first. Let us know what you find.
Old 26 Nov 2014, 12:14 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Just wanted to update for the greater good of the community. We took the car to the dealer who said,
"your battery is bad and your flywheel is broken. It'll be a million dollars".
I said,
"NO! start with the battery."
300 dollars later they said,