PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Spark Plug Gap

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Dec 2014, 03:48 pm
Senior Cruiser

Default Spark Plug Gap

Hello, everyone. Long time, no see.

There have been few problems with my 2003 non-turbo PT in the past few years, so I have been working on my 1974 Volkswagen Bug since I got it in 2012.

Anyway, I went to start the PT this morning--ambient temperature about 45 degrees F--and it idled kinda rough. Not too bad, but a noticeable difference from normal. I go to take off--slowly--and the roughness stays and the check engine light comes on--solid, not blinking. I go a block and decide to park the car back home. I make a U-turn and by the time I get to my driveway, the check engine light goes off, the engine idles smoothy. so, I back out of the driveway again and go to the store and the vet with no issues whatsoever? What the hell?

So, since I haven't changed the plugs or plug wires in 23,000 miles, I figure it's time to do so.

I went to the "Spark Plug" sticky on this forum to refresh myself on how to do this, and I find that many are commenting to gap the stock plugs to .040 instead of the recommended .048 to .053.

If I remember correctly, I had installed new plugs (the last time) with a gap of .50--and the car has run very well since then. Should I really gap the plugs to the new .040?

Why?

Thanks,

Tim
Old 24 Dec 2014, 03:59 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Spark Plug Gap

On a single electrode spark plug like Champion Copper Plus I recommend .042.

to save debates from some members that like .040 which will work as well

Why is a very loooong explanation and I think has been covered a few times on this forum.

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN

Last edited by NitroPT; 24 Dec 2014 at 04:03 pm.
Old 24 Dec 2014, 07:44 pm
Senior Cruiser

Well, I changed the plugs, plug wires, air filter (it was about time), and the upper manifold gaskets.