Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2001 PT cruiser timing belt questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Apr 2015, 02:22 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default 2001 PT cruiser timing belt questions

Hello everyone, I recently got a pt cruiser for free from a friend who said that he didnt need that vehicle anymore, however it came with a slight problem... The timing belt has snapped and I am trying to order a replacement so I can open it up and replace it myself (Its gonna be a blast!!!!!!!) anyhow, I cannot tell if my 2.4L L4 DOHC 16v engine is Interference or non interference. I am new to the whole scene of cars and I would like to know what kit I should purchase to replace the timing belt and water pump.
Old 26 Apr 2015, 02:29 pm
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: 2001 PT cruiser timing belt questions

It is non-interference. if the belt broke at a high rpm, the valves could hit each other but not the pistons.

as far as which belt kit to get, i'll let someone with more knowledge than I have chime in.
Old 26 Apr 2015, 02:29 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Welcome to the forum.

It's a NON-Interference engine. Almost nobody has had damage when the timing belt broke BUT there has been 1 or 2 where the free floating opposing valve hit each other. it mostly depends on if the engine was at high revs when the belt gave way.

As far as the kit goes to replace the belt, water pump and tensioner, a lot of depends on parts from RockAuto Parts Catalog. Just fill in the information needed and you'll have a choice of which kit to buy. There might even be a coupon to save some money in the vendors section of this forum.
Old 26 Apr 2015, 03:08 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Ok great! I am looking to purchase a replacement kit from rock auto. Would this set meet the requirements for what I am needing to replace?? Thank you for the quick response btw!

More Information for DNJ ENGINE COMPONENTS TBK151WP