Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
1 more overheadting problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Apr 2016, 09:27 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Angry 1 more overheadting problem

Hey folks, Newbie here to the pt community. 05 non turbo coupe, purchased new, Florida resident.
Vehicle has 87,000 miles on it all scheduled maintenance completed on time,
3 years ego I installed a radiator and a fan, 3 months ego I had done the timing belt, water pump, tensioner, at 86,500 miles. I went out of town last week and the wife called me to say she had smelled anti freeze in the cabin, I told her most likely her heater core was seeping, She went autozone and bough a bottle of Blue devil Radiator and Block sealer On sale for 29.95 Woo ho what a bargain, NOT! The neighbor eager to help put the stuff in the vehicle and that's when the fun started... She called me the next morning that she had over heated coming home from work and had to be towed home, than she went on to tell me about the blue devil.....I hit the roof. So now i have been home and playing with this over heating issue for 2 days now.My eyes are bleeding from all the threads I read on overheating So with all the knowledge i gained on this forum I went to tackle this problem...I removed the t-sat full of white crystallized material, cleaned the neck, ( bypassed the heater core ) reclaimed anti freeze flushed the block and radiator, got a bunch of white crystal like substance out of the radiator, re filled with Auto zone 50/50 used a hose on the bleeder valve into a bottle to burp the system, let the bottle fill almost full Just to make sure that all the air was out, replaced t-stat and radiator cap, topped off and went for a ride. P.S. checked Fans, High speed and Low speed working fine, A/C on Fan comes on Also checked with Jumpers, both side of the fan low and high speeds Ok. Vehicle parked, temp gauge reaches half way fan comes on...