PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21 Jun 2016, 08:36 am
Trillion's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The place where the Game of Thrones accent comes from.
Posts: 54
Default Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

On a UK diesel of the same type?
For instance can I have two ECM's,one tuned and one not and just swap between the two? Or is the ECM like other car brands and paired to a security/immobiliser module?
Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21 Jun 2016, 08:43 am
Fk5 Fk5 is online now
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colesville, MD
Posts: 1,818
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trillion View Post
On a UK diesel of the same type?
For instance can I have two ECM's,one tuned and one not and just swap between the two? Or is the ECM like other car brands and paired to a security/immobiliser module?
Thanks in advance!
You sure ask a ton of questions for a guy that doesn't have a PT yet!

Somebody else will provide a more definitive response, but I think that you need to "mate" with the VIN, but after that, I believe that you can swap away. They can be finicky to swap, so I am not sure I'd want to make it a regular occurrence. You're dealing with diesels and our people are primarily dealing with gas 2.4s, so you may not get such an enlightened response.

I have been wondering about the best way to swap tunes. On some (custom/aftermarket) cars you can do it with a flip of a switch or two. I thought that was what the turbo toys were for the stage 2, but that was basically just a picture in the catalog. I don't know anybody that had it in a PT.

It would be nice to swap between 87 octane and 93+ octane tunes. I saved a ton of money driving my car on 87, but I don't want to reduce the reliability/longevity.
__________________
2003 GT 5 speed
162,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21 Jun 2016, 08:57 am
Trillion's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The place where the Game of Thrones accent comes from.
Posts: 54
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fk5 View Post
You sure ask a ton of questions for a guy that doesn't have a PT yet!

Somebody else will provide a more definitive response, but I think that you need to "mate" with the VIN, but after that, I believe that you can swap away. They can be finicky to swap, so I am not sure I'd want to make it a regular occurrence. You're dealing with diesels and our people are primarily dealing with gas 2.4s, so you may not get such an enlightened response.

I have been wondering about the best way to swap tunes. On some (custom/aftermarket) cars you can do it with a flip of a switch or two. I thought that was what the turbo toys were for the stage 2, but that was basically just a picture in the catalog. I don't know anybody that had it in a PT.

It would be nice to swap between 87 octane and 93+ octane tunes. I saved a ton of money driving my car on 87, but I don't want to reduce the reliability/longevity.
I'm retired, up until about a year ago I had never connected a computer to a car in my life,It seemed like a thing of science fiction for me.Anyway my wife stopped driving, she'd just had enough of it and I was free to buy anything I wanted. SO I bought a huge highly complicated car and because I feared getting a warning light on the instrument panel so much I bought an old laptop for diagnostics and started to put some stuff together.
I have since remapped two cars and can now copy a tuned map with some professional software I've taught myself to use.
So I'm a very enthusiastic amateur that is now considering getting a PT Cruiser.
I can change a VIN if its not held in a secure area with a Hex-editor so I can easily get around that.
Your wanting two maps is something that can be done to certain cars.Here in the UK I've seen people advertising dual maps on cars that have a "sport button". I know nothing more than that really.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21 Jun 2016, 10:35 am
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,642
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?






__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23 Jun 2016, 12:10 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trillion View Post
On a UK diesel of the same type?
For instance can I have two ECM's,one tuned and one not and just swap between the two? Or is the ECM like other car brands and paired to a security/immobiliser module?
Thanks in advance!
For North American cars, some 01-03 years did not have an immobilizer installed from the factory. In those cars, you can swap similarly non-immobilized ECMs without the need for programming. Some 04-05 may also have not had an immobilizer installed, but I have never seen one. All 04-05 cars I have seen have had an immobilizer.

If the car has an immobilizer, then you will have to change the vin stored inside the replacement ECM. I am not sure if it is in a protected location inside or not, however there are some aftermarket scan tools which have the ability to change that sequence.

You can tell, in most cases, if the car has an immobilizer if it has grey/brown headed keys, as opposed to the thinner black headed keys used in non-immobilized cars. I said in most cases as there are some people who may have modified their immobilized car to use a regular key by attaching a chipped key, or the chip from a key, to the immobilizer module and allowing the use of a regular key all the time since the immobilizer is always satisfied.

Last edited by myckee; 23 Jun 2016 at 12:12 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23 Jun 2016, 12:38 pm
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 4,692
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

You can tell, in most cases, if the car has an immobilizer if it has grey/brown headed keys, as opposed to the thinner black headed keys used in non-immobilized cars. I said in most cases as there are some people who may have modified their immobilized car to use a regular key by attaching a chipped key, or the chip from a key, to the immobilizer module and allowing the use of a regular key all the time since the immobilizer is always satisfied.

That's what I did to mine. I zip tied the chipped key to the immobilizer module and am using keys that I had cut at Walmart for two bucks each. It works just fine. The ONLY quirk I've discovered is if I unlock the rear hatch with the key, then the car alarm starts going off. I have to unlock the door and use the door unlock button to open the hatch instead.
__________________


Aspire to inspire before you expire.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23 Jun 2016, 12:56 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,336
Default Re: Can you just swap out the ECM/PCM?

I had a replacement PCM modified to eliminate the SKIM (Security Key Immobilizer)
BUT what happened when I tried to use the key to open the drivers door it set the alarm, but the car did run.

I then bought a PCM-SKIM-KEYFOB from the same vehicle and everything works. (the car would not turn over before hand).

All I have to do now is rekey the hatch and door then get my VIN programmed into the PCM
__________________
Addicted to Mopar You can tell how old I am..
65 Dodge Coronet 6 cyl 2dr Post
66 Ply Satellite with 273 engine swap to 69 340 4spd
70 340 4spd Dart Swinger "Those were the days my friend"
73 Charger SE
Had a few Vetts on the way 69, 85
Several Neons some flips
01 Sebring flip
Cruiser's 01, 220K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 03 133K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 06 110K Project Gone to new Home
Cruiser 05 Ltd 120,809 bought with broken belt Oct2015
May 16 Resurrected to once again roam the streets.

20 Miles South Of Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Swap FPOLITTE56 General PT Cruiser Discussions 2 27 Mar 2014 02:58 pm
Engine swap bubba_1952 General PT Cruiser Discussions 8 21 Mar 2014 12:26 pm
5 speed swap sleepy General Turbo Discussions 9 13 Nov 2012 01:50 pm
2.4l Pt swap fork_in_the_road Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 0 03 Oct 2007 09:21 am
SRT-4......GT Swap... COP TZER Turbo Performance 6 24 Jul 2003 12:34 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors