PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
08 cruiser overheating when stopped. But I've done all the standard repairs...

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Jul 2016, 09:29 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default 08 cruiser overheating when stopped. But I've done all the standard repairs...

Ok, I'm losing my mind on this thing.

I work as a courier, and I blew up my last car. I found an 08 PT Cruiser for sale in my price range and decided to take the plunge. If you want a laugh understand that I bought it from a local reverend, an active preacher at a small church it Grand Prairie, TX.

I knew it had some mechanical issues, but I'm not afraid of handling a wrench. While not a mechanic, I'm one of those guys who's changed a water pump in a parking lot because it was cheaper than towing the truck home.

So anyways, I fixed it up well enough to pass inspection. I will readily admit that I did the majority of the repairs via information I found on this forum. Seriously, thank you guys.

I've driven it for 10,000 miles with no problems, but suddenly it's started to overheat when I'm stuck in traffic or at a stop light. It started by boiling off it's coolant if I was stationary for too long. Then it left me stranded 40 miles from home.

I did the usual. The radiator cap was bad so I replaced it, then replaced the thermostat for good measure. I bled the coolant system, though in a thoroughly craptastic fashion. I didn't have the right sized tubing.

It worked fine for about six hours then started overheating as soon as I ended up getting stuck in traffic.

I searched around a bit, found out about the issues with the fan. Sure enough, the fan isn't blowing, so I replace it. It works fine through a few hours of highway driving then overheats the moment I hit traffic.

The fan isn't blowing.