PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
P0031 and P0037 - Indication of a bad PCM?

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By rob302
  • 2 Post By cromagnondan
  • 1 Post By NitroPT
  • 1 Post By myckee

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08 Nov 2016, 02:43 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Question P0031 and P0037 - Indication of a bad PCM?

I'm new to the Turbo PT scene, but not new to PT's. I've recently acquired a 2005 PT Cruiser Touring Turbo Convertible. It has the following symptoms. After disconnecting the battery, no codes are present until the car reaches normal operating temperature, at which time the P0031 and P0037 appear. It affects performance by making the car stumble and hestitate on acceleration, cut out for a second as if the fuel were cut off and then cut back in which may also cause a backfire in the throttle body. It makes driving it a nerve-racking experience as it feels like it is just about ready to leave you stranded. I have read nearly every P0031 and P0037 post on ptcruiserlinks.com and can report that most owners who have received this problem have ultimately resolved it by replacing the PCM. Most people go down the route of replacing both 02 sensors, checking the wiring to the sensors, and then finally replacing the PCM, sometimes replacing it with many "rebuilt" units until a "good" one is found. Has anyone fixed a P0031, P0037 in a turbo by some means other than replacing the PCM? It seems that the 02 sensors are NEVER the reason for these codes, that the problem is there is no longer any output voltage from the PCM to the 02 heater circuit. Am I reaching the right conclusion? Is the only way to fix P0031 and P0037 to buy a new PCM?
Old 08 Nov 2016, 03:06 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: P0031 and P0037 - Indication of a bad PCM?

it could be a faulty o2 ground as well. best to check with a multimeter before coughing up the dough for any parts