PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Head gasket set

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Jan 2017, 01:08 am
Cool Cruiser

Wink Head gasket set

As I have mentioned before on this forum I have purchased several of these Pt's with engine problems to repair and I have a question concerning head gasket sets. I am no expert in the area of OEM vs aftermarket gaskets but I have heard more than one mechanic say that Fel-Pro, as an example, has taken the weak points of the OEM gasket failures and improved the design so that purchasing the Fel-Pro set would actually be a better choice based on those improvements. The Pt's I have done so far I have used the Fel-Pro set only, and thus far with good results. Does anyone know any specifics of the improvements that have supposedly been made from the OEM gaskets? I did notice the intake gaskets for example from the factory build were almost flat or flush providing an inadequate seal when I removed them. As you guys know these sets include all the necessary gaskets to cover the upper end rebuild. The head gasket itself does appear to be well manufactured from Fel-Pro. For example, Is there a better sealing material on that gasket than the OEM version? I thought there might be a subject matter expert on the topic that might know the answer to my question?
Old 14 Jan 2017, 09:31 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Head gasket set

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imakenocents View Post