Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
warped head

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Apr 2017, 01:21 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default warped head

when I was a mechanic at nissan we had to shim the cam towers for every 10 thousands we had removed when surfacing the head. is that an issue on the pt heads, I'm looking at removing about 30 thousands.
Old 26 Apr 2017, 01:52 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: warped head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davo View Post
when I was a mechanic at Nissan we had to shim the cam towers for every 10 thousands we had removed when surfacing the head. is that an issue on the pt heads, I'm looking at removing about 30 thousands.
Past tense?
haha what you are no longer a mechanic because you no longer work for Nissan?

1.6 and 2.4 Chrysler engines with HLAs surfacing to .030 is fine
In most cases the timing belt tenser should take up the amount your are going to surface.
DCR reports removing different amount up to .120 without concern but I would not do that to any head myself. I believe the safe cutting max is .080 or .060 to increase CR 1 point.

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Old 26 Apr 2017, 04:37 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Ya I tried to stop being a professional mechanic about 15 years ago, but your right, I'm still a mechanic. ask any of my friends. Thanks, didn't want to make it worse than it already is..
Old 26 Apr 2017, 04:39 pm
Fresh Cruiser

hey any chance of noticing an improvement in power with the increase of compression, just a thought
Old 26 Apr 2017, 04:47 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Ya I tried to stop being a professional mechanic about 15 years ago, but your right, I'm still a mechanic. ask any of my friends. Thanks, didn't want to make it worse than it already is..
hmm that sound close to home...I get all the calls from friends and family.