Advertisements
03 pt a/c problems

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 May 2017, 03:32 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default 03 pt a/c problems

Hi I am new here first post.
We have an '03 pt Cruiser, actually my wifes car, anyway we had works done at a dealership, timing belt, MFS, valve cover gasket, cost $1850.00 total. There were a couple things I could have done myself but we decided to get them done along with the timing belt etc.
So, a little while after we got the car back, we noticed the a/c didnt work anymore, we called the shop and they said they would look and see if it was there fault or ours. Took it in and they said it was something that wasnt their fault and that they wanted $500 to fix it. We decided against paying to fix it. We are quite po'ed about the situation because they a/c has worked fine ever since we bought the car. They said it had a leak in the a/c system.
I have never tried to fix a/c on a car before.
So, I went and bought a refill kit with a leak sealer in it. That kit didnt have a gauge in it. I kept adding freon to it and kept checking to see if the a/c got cold and it never did. Then I read about overfilling and that it might make the system not work. I bought a refill line with a gauge in it and sure enough it was in the red. I bled most of it out, mostly air and some liquid, still not working.
The low side is full and at proper pressure, but I cant hear the clutch on the compressor engaging.
Could it be the a bad pressure switch? Are there fuses to check somewhere? I looked at the fuse panel inside and none said anything about being for the a/c system.
Any help greatly appreciated.
Old 26 May 2017, 04:12 pm
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: 03 pt a/c problems

Welcome to the forum from Texas.