PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
PT starting issues when hot outside

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10 Jun 2017, 01:28 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default PT starting issues when hot outside

Hello fellow cruisers, I've been driving a 2006 PT Cruiser, 4 door, non turbo, for the last 6 years and I'm around 120000 miles now. I've also lurked around these forums for help like when my timing belt broke last year. But now I have an issue which is liable to drive me bonkers if I can't get it fixed.

The issues started towards the end of summer last year. Basically, the pt cruiser will have issues starting when the ambient air temperature reaches 75 degrees Fahrenheit. I'll turn the key, hear the fuel pump, and the starter will make no effort to turn over. Then if I give it about 20 seconds I can turn the key again and the starter will turn over immediately. However, the air temperature where I live is now hitting 90 degrees every day and the car refuses to start unless I short the power supply to the solenoid on the starter while someone holds the key. This results in me only being able to drive regularly at night.

I've checked the starter relay, the one on the fire wall on the right side and it changes state every time I turn the key. I even swapped it out with a fresh one just in case and conditions did not improve.

I've gotten a fresh battery from auto zone since the one I had in my car was under warranty, corroded, and worn out after so many start attempts. The conditions did not improve.

I've pulled out my starter and had it tested, the guy ran it 5 times consecutively without issue, still not certain if the starter can be ruled out as the issue though.

With the starter pulled out, I've went ahead and cleaned the terminal for the solenoid which was a little greasey. The wire which connected to the solenoid terminal was really greasey, so I've been trying to clean it out.