PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
05 Cruiser - Multiple Trans Codes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02 Oct 2017, 10:42 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default 05 Cruiser - Multiple Trans Codes

Hello everyone,

This forum seems to come up more often than any other whenever I start looking for answers to the many issues I have encountered so I figured it would be a good place to post my most recent dilemma!

First off, I work in the medical field so I am not familiar with all the mechanical terminology as well as I would like. I am fairly mechanically inclined though and would refer to my skill set as a certified parts changer (though I might not always know the name of the part...)

I am working on a 2005 PT Cruiser Base (No Turbo). When I purchased it the speedometer wasn't working and it gave me an error code (can't remember the number) which Advance Auto stated was for a Speed Sensor. Shortly thereafter it began going into Limp Mode. Took it back to Advance, confirmed it was still only the one code and I replaced both the input and output sensors. While I had it on the lifts, before reassembling the battery tray and air intake, the speedometer worked fine and the error code went away. Excited I had fixed it I took it off the lifts and took it for a test drive only to immediately note the speedometer was once again not working, the error code was back and now in addition to limp mode it would shut off while slowing down to turn. Which brings us up to the present.

Yesterday my father in law brought over a computer and we determined that it now has the following codes: PO500, PO501, PO700, PO701 and PO891. With many of these pointing toward the Transmission Control Module I have attempted, very unsuccessfully, to find a replacement part. If not for finding one on Advance Auto and having actually seen the part in my PT I would believe the part didn't exist.

Questions: