PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
P0120 Throttle Position Sensor

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19 Oct 2017, 07:32 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 18
Default P0120 Throttle Position Sensor

Hello

After being serviced my 2003 2.2 diesel developed P0120

I've had the throttle position sensor replaced (crazy money...) but the code keeps coming back.

I've reset it and sometimes the EMS light stays off for 150miles, sometimes 5miles.

Other times the EMS light goes out by itself!

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19 Oct 2017, 08:02 am
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,519
Default Re: P0120 Throttle Position Sensor

I would suggest this is a wiring issue. There's only 3 wires. First to check would be the ground wire. Voltage high? Voltage low? The connector may require inspecting. The problem will be easier to find once the code is constant
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 19 Oct 2017 at 08:04 am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19 Oct 2017, 11:25 am
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 7,332
Default Re: P0120 Throttle Position Sensor

These are some of the common causes of P0120 on a 2.4L gas engine for a Pt Cruiser.

1. Sticking throttle return spring
2. MAP or TPS connector corrosion
3. Misrouted harness causing chafing
4. Bad TPS
__________________
If at First You Don't Succeed - Try, Try Again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22 Oct 2017, 08:30 am
RickinPA's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: southeastern PA
Posts: 311
Default Re: P0120 Throttle Position Sensor

I had the same repetitive code on a Neon. I ended up checking continuity of wiring between the TPS connector and the PCM (car's computer) connector. There was high resistance in the wire that feeds +5V to the TPS. I spliced in a new wire to bypass the bad wire, and that fixed it. Somewhere deep in the wiring loom is a broken wire.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position sensor, where is the rascal? txsbigfoot General Turbo Discussions 15 09 Feb 2016 06:15 pm
Throttle Position Sensor Related to P0340/344? Jayou Tech & Performance Forum 8 15 Jul 2015 02:03 pm
Cleaning the Throttle Position Sensor sscanlan Tech & Performance Forum 3 17 Jun 2012 04:36 pm
Throttle position sensor Cruiser73 Tech & Performance Forum 4 23 Mar 2011 12:09 pm
Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) readings Bman05Ltd Tech & Performance Forum 5 29 Aug 2007 06:59 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors