PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

 
Like Tree6Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 12:32 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanJR View Post
I have also swapped an automatic 4 speed for a manual 5 (NV150) in my 04 PT turbo lite.(Non GT) I have been struggling to get the speedometer working. I came up with the same plan you have listed here after weeks of trial and error. The ECM is the original 04 turbo automatic, (Non GT). I have my wires hooked up as you describe here but still no reading. I have replaced my speed sensor, the nylon gear that attaches to it, and my cluster. Both clusters' tested ok for the speedometer. My last hope is the connector on the harness I made from the sensor pigtail pin 3 is faulty.

No disrespect to you at all but, how sure are you that pin 13 on connector 1 (Speed signal MTX) will take a reading if the ECM was programed for an automatic? I'm beginning to think its a dead pin.

Thanks for your help. I wish I had seen your post before figuring it all out on my own. dan@ju-online.com
Dan are you using a MTX cluster? This is pure speculation on my part, but since the cluster is also the BCM, which instructs the pcm which options the car has, if you are using an ATX cluster, it will tell the pcm to look for the auto speed sensor. Perhaps by installing an MTX cluster, it will enable pin 13, and your speedo would work. A non turbo mtx cluster should be a relatively cheap and easy find from the junkyard to test. That's what I would do.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 12:34 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

neat idea. ..and cheap
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 02:42 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Okay well since I was bored today and I have the ability to program the PCM, I programmed and installed an 03 GT Automatic PCM into my 03 GT Manual car with obviously correct factory manual wiring and cluster.

The end result: Speedo doesn't work with an auto pcm and manual cluster. It appears pin 13 is "dead" in the auto pcm, or at least with the auto tune it is.

While this was on an 03, and not an 04 or 05, I would expect that the same result would be expected with one of them too.

It would be interesting to know if flashing the manual tune onto the auto pcm would work or not. I should be able to test that in the next couple of weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 03:58 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 7,158
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
Okay well since I was bored today and I have the ability to program the PCM, I programmed and installed an 03 GT Automatic PCM into my 03 GT Manual car with obviously correct factory manual wiring and cluster.

The end result: Speedo doesn't work with an auto pcm and manual cluster. It appears pin 13 is "dead" in the auto pcm, or at least with the auto tune it is.

While this was on an 03, and not an 04 or 05, I would expect that the same result would be expected with one of them too.

It would be interesting to know if flashing the manual tune onto the auto pcm would work or not. I should be able to test that in the next couple of weeks.
What software do you use to program the PCM? This is great that you are sharing this information.
__________________
If at First You Don't Succeed - Try, Try Again
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 04:30 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Thanks Rob302, That is actually how I have it hooked up now. Still no luck yet. I really don't need the speedo to work, my real issue is that the PCM won't complete the OBD IM readiness for the O2 Catalyst and O2 sensor. I live in the Atlanta GA metro area and our cars get an emission test every year. I'm not sure if it wont attempt or complete the test because it thinks it's sitting still or because of the various auto trans CEL codes it's getting. Either way I've learned my lesson about drive train swaps in computer controlled cars... Start with the correct drivetrain then just upgrade and retune.
04 PT Cruiser Turbo | Ju-online.com
Thanks for your help.
rob302 likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30 Nov 2017, 08:25 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 135
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

I have an mtx pcm in my 5-speed swapped turbo lite. I think this is your best bet. To read correct speed I have a frequency multiplier in between the vehicle speed sensor and pcm. The cluster is from an atx car.
rob302 likes this.
__________________
2004 Touring Turbo Lite, Hahn 20g turbo, ATX ->T350 5-speed swap, mtx stage 1 pcm, DiabloSport InTune, rear sway bar, Wilwood big front brakes, rear disc brake conversion, Drop Zone springs, SRT4 dual exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01 Dec 2017, 11:35 am
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Frequency multiplier?
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01 Dec 2017, 12:22 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 135
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob302 View Post
Frequency multiplier?
A turbo mtx PCM expects about a 12x faster square wave signal compared to the output of the T350 vehicle speed sensor because the getrag vss is different. Without a multiplier the speedo reads 1/12 actual.
__________________
2004 Touring Turbo Lite, Hahn 20g turbo, ATX ->T350 5-speed swap, mtx stage 1 pcm, DiabloSport InTune, rear sway bar, Wilwood big front brakes, rear disc brake conversion, Drop Zone springs, SRT4 dual exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01 Dec 2017, 12:26 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

is that something you purchased? or built? i'm intrigued. that's the most interesting thing i've read on here in ages.
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 01 Dec 2017, 12:58 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 135
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob302 View Post
is that something you purchased? or built? i'm intrigued. that's the most interesting thing i've read on here in ages.
I built a prototype on a breadboard, but ultimately went with a Dakota digital multiplier when they revised it with the capability of variability up to 16x.
__________________
2004 Touring Turbo Lite, Hahn 20g turbo, ATX ->T350 5-speed swap, mtx stage 1 pcm, DiabloSport InTune, rear sway bar, Wilwood big front brakes, rear disc brake conversion, Drop Zone springs, SRT4 dual exhaust
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need '01 5-speed wiring harness TurboDucky Classifieds: Want To Buy 2 08 Feb 2016 09:36 am
Do I need to change sensor/s on my 5-speed..got auto throttle body shelbyzman Tech & Performance Forum 3 26 Jun 2013 04:52 pm
Looking for '03 GT PCM and Wiring Harness from a 5-speed car TurboDucky Classifieds: Want To Buy 5 08 Apr 2012 09:26 pm
wiring harness 05 manual non turbo BeagleDad Tech & Performance Forum 3 26 Aug 2011 04:21 pm
05 non turbo manual trans wiring harness BeagleDad Classifieds: Want To Buy 0 26 Aug 2011 03:16 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors