PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

 
Like Tree6Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26 Oct 2017, 07:12 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 166
Default Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Is it possible or is it out of the question? I have the pigtail for the speed sensor and Iím trying to get my cars speedometer working
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26 Oct 2017, 11:29 pm
_PTGT03's Avatar
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Abbotsford, British Columbia.
Posts: 659
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

you're missing too much important information for someone to help you. what isyour issue experienced and what have you done
__________________
2003 Green GT M/T, Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus Tires 205/50ZR17, black and grey interior, oem cargo net, oem parcel shelf, oem slush mats and trunk protector, platinum edition pedals, Neon SX 2.0 steering wheel with black+grey wrapped leather cover, front and rear oem mud guards, lowering springs, KYB gas shocks, Valeo solid flywheel conversion and clutch kit, 'ancor' brand engine mount replacements with urethane inserts. full body urethane bushings kit. Chrysler premium front speakers, Jenson 6x9 rears, oem mopar subwoofer, Boston Audio 4x55W amp. Panasonic head unit with bluetooth. 300W AC power inverter. Escort 360max and Escort Shifter ZR4, dual front+rear dash camera. stage 1 blow off valve and syked tune computer . Boost and oil pressure gauges with Turbo-Timer. Needswings Electric valve actuated Y-pipe with catalytic converter. To do: coilovers, 2step controller, quaife diff, Air-Fuel Meter
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 10:59 am
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

need to know what year the car is you stole the turbo junk from.

if all = 2002 it would look like below.

Capture.jpg

Capture1.JPG

Capture3.JPG

Capture4.JPG
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 11:03 am
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

what you are attempting to do involves wiring that used to go from the pcm, to the tcm, and then to the trans.

would be better/easier to just look up where the wires come out of the new PCM and run 3 new wires. idk what year or type of computer you're using. i'd ASSume it's for a manual GT?
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 27 Oct 2017 at 11:05 am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 12:37 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 166
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

The ecu came out of an auto GT and the harness came out of an 05
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 01:50 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

Capture.JPG
^2005 GT




this may help?
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 27 Oct 2017 at 01:56 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 01:52 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

match the 1, 2, 3, to the diagram above and it should work.

check with a multimeter to verify which wire is the power and which is the ground. failing to do so may cost you a PCM(which i do not want the credit for)
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 27 Oct 2017 at 02:17 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27 Oct 2017, 02:24 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

wire 13 on PCM connector 1 = speed sensor output connector pin 3
wire 29 on PCM connector 2 = speed sensor output connector pin 2
wire 27 on PCM connector 2 = speed sensor output connector pin 1

(but double check me)
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 27 Oct 2017 at 02:29 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 11:59 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

I have also swapped an automatic 4 speed for a manual 5 (NV150) in my 04 PT turbo lite.(Non GT) I have been struggling to get the speedometer working. I came up with the same plan you have listed here after weeks of trial and error. The ECM is the original 04 turbo automatic, (Non GT). I have my wires hooked up as you describe here but still no reading. I have replaced my speed sensor, the nylon gear that attaches to it, and my cluster. Both clusters' tested ok for the speedometer. My last hope is the connector on the harness I made from the sensor pigtail pin 3 is faulty.

No disrespect to you at all but, how sure are you that pin 13 on connector 1 (Speed signal MTX) will take a reading if the ECM was programed for an automatic? I'm beginning to think its a dead pin.

Thanks for your help. I wish I had seen your post before figuring it all out on my own. dan@ju-online.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28 Nov 2017, 12:24 pm
rob302's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darien, IL | Forest Park, IL
Posts: 3,378
Default Re: Splicing manual speed sensor on an auto harness

i've never been through it.. i don't think i'd try this swap myself.

if pin 13 is unused, perhaps the auto PCM uses this for reading speed?
Capture.jpg

if all else fails you might contact autometer tech support and see if they have something that may work. i have in the past used their programmable electronic speedometer. basically you drive 2 miles and stop and it calibrates itself. only downside is $$ and you'll lose cruise control.
https://www.autometer.com/media/manual/2650-1512.pdf
__________________
.

Last edited by rob302; 28 Nov 2017 at 12:27 pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need '01 5-speed wiring harness TurboDucky Classifieds: Want To Buy 2 08 Feb 2016 09:36 am
Do I need to change sensor/s on my 5-speed..got auto throttle body shelbyzman Tech & Performance Forum 3 26 Jun 2013 04:52 pm
Looking for '03 GT PCM and Wiring Harness from a 5-speed car TurboDucky Classifieds: Want To Buy 5 08 Apr 2012 09:26 pm
wiring harness 05 manual non turbo BeagleDad Tech & Performance Forum 3 26 Aug 2011 04:21 pm
05 non turbo manual trans wiring harness BeagleDad Classifieds: Want To Buy 0 26 Aug 2011 03:16 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors