PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Engine cuts out !!

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Oct 2017, 04:50 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Cool Engine cuts out !!

Hi guys ! Yep im a newbie and always wanted a Pt Cruiser, wish I'd read up a bit more before taking the plunge though .
Anyway.....seems like the big one that everyone goes on about is the engine cut out !! And mine has started about 2 days after buying it ! I wonder if they knew haha......Had a bit of a fright as I drove over a roundabout and lost all power !!! And there is so much out there and im sure I will spend many happy hours, scouring the forums / you tube etc and hopefully chatting with like minded owners ! I still love Rod .......but need to sort the problem out sharpish ! So please feel free to impart any help you can , as I still believe most people are good at heart.........or am I just a dreamer ?
Many thanks for any comments ........Bob
Old 30 Oct 2017, 05:25 pm
Cool Cruiser

Default Re: Engine cuts out !!

Nah, the most common problem isn't engine cut out, it's overheating and electrical problems. You probably didn't want to hear that.

The PT Cruiser is not too different than any other discontinued older designed car. It's just that more things tend to wear out earlier than its contemporary designs. That being said, there were a lot made and fixing them isn't terribly complex, it's just that there is very little room in the engine compartment. Things like suspension parts are pretty easy to get to.

Fortunately for you this forum is loaded with very helpful people who can figure out almost any problem with the PT Cruiser provided you give them the correct information. If you get emotional and vague in the description of what is going on and don't want to deal with a detailed diagnostic or just want reliable transportation with little or no problems, then the PT Cruiser is not for you.