Advertisements
OBDII scanner recommendations for average person

Like Tree13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 Nov 2017, 09:52 am
Regular Cruiser

Default OBDII scanner recommendations for average person

hi

can anyone recommend a low cast obdII scanner i can buy?

also they are all called obdII scanner readers but some coast $15 and others cost $200

what should i look for...

are the cheap ones just code readers?....what can a scan tool do that a code reader cant?..supply actual real time data?...what about bidirectional capable scanners?

any info would help..i would like to buy one that will do whats needed..and not something that is useless

i am not a mechanic..just an average person ....ive seen them at harbor freight for about $99 but on amazon ive seen them as cheap as $15...whats the difference..they are all called obdII scanner readers

thyanks
Old 06 Nov 2017, 10:07 am
Young Cruiser

Default Re: OBDII scanner recommendations for average person

I picked one that also resets the codes to zero so I don't have to disconnect the battery. Maybe they all do that now? I have had the thing for several years and I think I got from Autozone. I don't remember the cost....
Old 06 Nov 2017, 11:13 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Everybody has their opinions about what they have and use so here is mine. I carry the Harbor Freight scanner with me all the time.

https://www.harborfreight.com/automo...agnostics.html

Scan Tool
Item # 60694
Old 06 Nov 2017, 05:17 pm
Regular Cruiser

Thanks nitro but thatscanner u have is over $130

Its just a reader.....i can get code readers for $15 online

Why is the one unhave so expensive....its harbor freight it should be cheap like $15

What am i missing here?
Old 06 Nov 2017, 05:24 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

hmm it is 99.00 and does more then just read engine codes?? not sure what you looked at?
I use it for everything except transmission codes and ABS in which for obvious reasons I bring out the big guns my Snap-on scanner.