Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
06 PT Cruiser A/C Nightmare

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04 Jul 2018, 05:02 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default 06 PT Cruiser A/C Nightmare

I have a 2006 PT cruiser touring edition Vin B I recently purchased a ac replacement kit came with Seals, Compressor, Accumulator, and the Orifice line and I went ahead and purchased a new condenser. All parts matched OEM part #.

I am not a novice at replacing A/C systems I've done it a few times on other vehicles.

So i pulled everything off AC related reinstalled everything I thought it pretty much went off without a hitch until I was done vacuuming down my ac system and ready to add my freon So here I am 11:30PM all excited that I'm going to have my AC back and be Cruisin the streets again. I start to add the freon and low and behold after 45 to 55 minutes standing in front of my car looking like an idiot my Compressor just refuses to turn on in any way shape or form.

So at this point I turned to the internet I have at this point tested all of the following ideas I have found

Radiator Fan ( Does not turn on when I turn on the AC system but I have tested the fan itself its 100% I swapped the relays with no change)

replaced the LOW Pressure Switch no change

traced and tested several wires

theres more but at this point I have been working on said car for 12 hours through the entire nite and I am unable to recall them all but I have done several of the suggestions for the forums also.

I am now begging for any assistance anyone may be able to offer

I'm not shy either I Live in Indiana very close to Purdue University so if anyone in the area Please HELP I love and hate this car at this point.
Old 04 Jul 2018, 06:37 am
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: 06 PT Cruiser A/C Nightmare

You probably already checked this, but the power plug to the compressor can be a PITA.