PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Torque converter won't seat fully

 
Like Tree12Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 12:39 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 77
Default Torque converter won't seat fully

OK- I am replacing the 41TE transmission in my brother's 02 PT. I got one out of an 01 PT. I tore it down far enough to check condition of the clutches and they all looked good. I put it back together and tried to install it but the engine and trans would not bolt together. I inspected it closely and discovered that the torque converter was not fully seating on the input shaft.

So I pulled the trans and put it on the bench. I removed the front pump and did not see anything in the trans that was obviously impeding the converter from seating. I made sure the front drum and clutch pack was fully engaged in the middle clutch discs and reassembled it.

Upon reassembly the torque converter still would not seat fully. The factory shop man ual says the pads for the bolts should sit about 1/2 inch below the lip of the trans, but the best I can manage is about flush to the lip of the trans.

Is there some trick to this transmision I am missing? Some sneaky way to get the converter fully seated? I have spun and spun and jiggled and it just won't seat. Any suggestions?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 02:13 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

slowly turn the torque converter on the input shaft
until it slides into the pump
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
Addicted to Mopar You can tell how old I am..
65 Dodge Coronet 6 cyl 2dr Post
66 Ply Satellite with 273 engine swap to 69 340 4spd
70 340 4spd Dart Swinger "Those were the days my friend"
73 Charger SE
Had a few Vetts on the way 69, 85
Several Neons some flips
01 Sebring flip
Cruiser's 01, 220K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 03 133K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 06 110K Project Gone to new Home
Cruiser 05 Ltd 120,809 bought with broken belt Oct2015
May 16 Resurrected to once again roam the streets.

20 Miles South Of Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 06:37 am
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 316
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

Any paint or oxidation will keep things form lining up...
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 12:05 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,111
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

This means the splines are not aligned which is not an uncommon installation thing for almost all automatics transmissions.... Try using a little Vaseline (NO automotive GREASE) and apply it to the splines and then retry to install the torque converter. Just work.

DONT FORCE in anyway it WILL GO IN AND SEAT!
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 02:30 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 77
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

Thanks all. I have installed torque converters many times and I am familiar with the problem of getting them to seat properly.

I looked carefully this morning and there was a little tab protruding into the space between the input shaft and the pump body. I pushed it back into place with a long skinny punch and the torque converter slid right into place. Yay. Now to reinstall the transmission.

P.S. no vaseline was used in the assembly of this transmission, but tranmission assembly lube was.

Last edited by glibbis; 02 Feb 2020 at 03:36 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02 Feb 2020, 04:40 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,111
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

LOL

inspecting a well used transmission not replacing any parts and then going so far to use assembly..... auh.... ok sure why not ? lol

I keep wondering why I even continue helping people that ask for help and then sorta put down your recommendations? ....


Transmission assemble lubes and greases are actually relatively new to use when assembling automatic transmissions. Transitionally many of us have used even rebuilding full race and capable of handling in excess of 1000 HP and cost in upwards of 10K$$$$ have used either FORD TYPE F, B&M OR SEWING machine service oil to use in the assembling of new rebuilt automatic transmissions. Some parts like pumps TORQUE CONVERTERS input splines, GOOD OLD VASELINE as a binder and protection during assemble and the critical first few second when the fluid pressurizes in a newly built transmission for the first time after a rebuilt. PLEASE REFER TO THE VELOCITY AND ALSO THE FLUID and grease breakdown information and maybe realize that YES , VASELINE works just fine



BTW..... the number weak one part failure in A604/41TE transmission is actually the Torque converter. Most ALL problems that can and will happen with this transmission are most often directly related to issues having started from both those main parts. I would have strongly considered a rebuild TQ and a pump when going to all the trouble and labor to swap out a Transmission with a used one!
chuzz likes this.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN

Last edited by NitroPT; 02 Feb 2020 at 04:54 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03 Feb 2020, 12:40 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 77
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
LOL

inspecting a well used transmission not replacing any parts and then going so far to use assembly..... auh.... ok sure why not ? lol
Because I had all the parts to rebuild it on hand, but the parts in the trans already were not worn enough to require replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
I keep wondering why I even continue helping people that ask for help and then sorta put down your recommendations? ....
I don't know. You don't have to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
Transmission assemble lubes and greases are actually relatively new to use when assembling automatic transmissions. Transitionally many of us have used even rebuilding full race and capable of handling in excess of 1000 HP and cost in upwards of 10K$$$$ have used either FORD TYPE F, B&M OR SEWING machine service oil to use in the assembling of new rebuilt automatic transmissions. Some parts like pumps TORQUE CONVERTERS input splines, GOOD OLD VASELINE as a binder and protection during assemble and the critical first few second when the fluid pressurizes in a newly built transmission for the first time after a rebuilt. PLEASE REFER TO THE VELOCITY AND ALSO THE FLUID and grease breakdown information and maybe realize that YES , VASELINE works just fine
Never said it didn't. I just have this tub of transmission assembly lube left over from rebuilding Chrysler 904s and a Ford AOD. I figured I might as well use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
BTW..... the number weak one part failure in A604/41TE transmission is actually the Torque converter. Most ALL problems that can and will happen with this transmission are most often directly related to issues having started from both those main parts. I would have strongly considered a rebuild TQ and a pump when going to all the trouble and labor to swap out a Transmission with a used one!
Great, maybe when I have endless money and all the time in the world to wait for parts to arrive I will replace parts that don't need it and that I have to order in. In the meantime, if a part work, I will use it and save time and money.

In the meantime, the trans is installed and I will test it out once I get done rebuilding the front suspension.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03 Feb 2020, 04:35 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,111
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

LOL ^
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03 Feb 2020, 08:55 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 316
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

Its fine when folks ask really basic questions, thats what the forum is for. But when one asks really, really basic questions and folks take time out of their day...its really annoying when one always responds with (granted, a thankyou) "i have been working on these powertrains a long time. I know left from right- i know what im doing"
Stop asking stupid questions. If i recognized you i wouldnt have even bothered, but shame on me for not recognizing the powertrain specialist who cant bench test a dang tranny....
With any luck you pushed out the oil pump dogs...but you knew that, didnt cha?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03 Feb 2020, 08:58 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 316
Default Re: Torque converter won't seat fully

Aka...like i said many moons ago..
"You are not doing a kid any favors buying her a pt"
I felt bad about saying that....

Last edited by rambojoe; 04 Feb 2020 at 06:18 am.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible torque converter issue ?? podo2000 Tech & Performance Forum 3 04 Nov 2015 11:33 pm
Torque converter Johnlittle01 General Turbo Discussions 0 20 Jul 2011 03:40 pm
Torque Converter issue/question sjzdx Tech & Performance Forum 1 20 May 2010 08:23 am
torque converter buttermobile General PT Cruiser Discussions 2 26 Aug 2009 09:01 pm
torque converter/warranty mistersnappy Tech & Performance Forum 3 15 Dec 2005 06:43 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors