Advertisements
Timing Belt Job

Like Tree58Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 May 2020, 11:08 pm
Cool Cruiser

Default Timing Belt Job

Hey Y'all!

My cruiser just rolled to 176,000, and it's high time I did the timing belt!
To the best of my knowledge, the timing belt was last changed before I owned the car, around 120K, but possibly as long ago as at 90k or even less. Needless to say, it's time. But, I have just so many questions!

A shop recently quoted me over $1,400 to do the job, so obviously I'm not going that rout. but, just so I understand what I'm getting myself into, just how bad is this job? I am not that experienced, and I have only simple tools. I'll also be replace the 3 motor mounts, cause they need it, and why not, plus the bracket that the upper mount sits in, since I managed to cross thread it the last time I changed the upper mount

I'm also going to change the timing belt tensioner, idler, water pump, and coolant, thermostat and hoses. I'll also do the spark plugs and wires and valve cover gasket, since they last got done at a whopping 60K.

Since I have an '02 Auto, should I be using the "First design" or "Second design" tensioner? What's the difference between the tensioner and the "hydraulic tensioner"?

Since I'm changing the 3 main mounts, should I go ahead and change the trans mount too, since it's original to the car?

Are Gates timing parts any good, or should I spring for OEM Mopar parts for this job?

Should I use a chemical coolant flush for a couple days before the job, just to clean everything out?

How bad is the middle motor mount? Would it be easier if I removed a fender, the radiator or the headlight? (Just trying to come up with ideas here)

Thanks for answering my flood of random questions, y'all! I appreciate the knowledge, wisdom and expertise.

Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Old 07 May 2020, 07:00 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Timing Belt Job

Quote: