PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Cleaning oil in the airbox

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05 Sep 2004, 08:56 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to crazie.eddie
Default Cleaning oil in the airbox

Since the PT's are designed in a way that a little more oil collects in the airbox, should I make it a habit of cleaning the oil that collects there once in awhile? If so, how often? Should I just wipe off the excess oil or use some kind of cleaner to make sure there is no oil residue in the airbox? Or will DC take care of this during the oil changes?

I don't want any dirt collecting on the oil, which is why I asked if I should clean it. I also remember reading on a few threads regarding a mod to put some kind of oil collecter. Does anyone have instructions on doing so? Is it difficult? I'm not a mechanic, nor do I know alot of about cars. But I'm somewhat intelligent (I think) that I can figure things out by a good set of instructions & diagrams. Keep in mind, not knowing much about cars, I'm not well versed in all the mech talk, so if you're going to talk about parts, make sure you describe it really well

Thanks all!
Old 06 Sep 2004, 12:50 pm
Senior Cruiser

I wouldn't be too terribly concerned about the oil in the bottom of the air box. Whether you just wipe it up or use some Simple Green/Orange Blast to help get it really clean is up to you.

The oil collector you're thinking of is generically referred to as a catch can. You could mount one between the fitting on the cylinder head and the airbox, but you really don't need to. By the way, that particular fitting is primarily an air makeup port. For the most part air is actually flowing INTO the engine at that point to help stabilize internal pressure. When our turbo cars are under boost the air, and some oil vapor, is blown OUT of this fitting which is why we see oil in the airbox.