PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Blown Head Gasket - Common after 60,000?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Jun 2005, 12:13 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Blown Head Gasket - Common after 60,000?

Anyone know if the PT Cruiser engine in general is known for blowing head gaskets after about 60,000 to 65,000 miles? I recently put a NOS system on my 2003 Turbo PT, and he mechanic said he would do it, but that he worked on that engine, the normal PT Cruiser non-turbo engine, and said that after about 65,000 miles, that you start leaking coolant, and the head gaskets blow. He game me 20 minutes of technical information why (something related to clearances on gaskets, openings, etc) (I'm not a mechanic), and said for that reason he did not recommend putting NOS on top of the turbo. So, was just wondering if anyone has ever heard of this being the case of PT Cruiser engines in general? The mechanic said he had worked on that engine for many years.
Old 19 Jun 2005, 01:24 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to SuGamer