Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Turbo Performance

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
What is considered to be normal?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Aug 2008, 06:22 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Question What is considered to be normal?

I recently purchased a used 2006 PT Cruiser Limited Edition 2.4 liter Turbo. I have noticed a loud sound coming from the engine when the car is idling. It sounds like a big fan. It is really loud. Now, I'm new to the whole turbo engine thing. I also notice that my car shudders and hesitates at acceleration sometimes. Most of these things are happening while the air conditioner is running. I use the 87 octane gas. My car has about 24,000 miles on it. My warranty on it is up to 36,000 or a year. I'm trying to make sure if there is anything seriously wrong with this car, that I can get it fixed BEFORE the warranty expires. I believe the dealership is not telling me what's wrong, because, they are trying to wait for the warranty to expire. Everything else about my car I absolutely love. My car is so nice looking and I love the way it handles the turns. But, I'm fearful that something is seriously wrong. Yet, I can't trust the people who sold the car to give me any service reports. Any suggestions?

Last edited by TheFox; 23 Aug 2008 at 07:02 pm.
Old 23 Aug 2008, 06:28 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: What is considered to be normal?

Normal for the fan to come on while idling when it is hot outside.

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Old 23 Aug 2008, 06:43 pm
Fresh Cruiser

I understand that when it is hot outside and you're running your a/c that it will run a little rougher than usual. I also understand the fan cooling the engine. However, this noise is VERY loud like a big fan is blowing in there on the highest level. I don't have a problem with a little noise. But, this fan or motor is so loud people look at my car like something's wrong with it.

Last edited by TheFox; 23 Aug 2008 at 06:56 pm.