PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Getting Started

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Sep 2009, 05:27 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to LcgIV
Default Getting Started

Hey, I got a 06 GT PT over the summer, and was wondering what performance upgrades are recommended and what I can expect to pay and gain from them, also which are the easiest(easy, but beneficial)? (I have very little experience working on cars)
Thanks!
Old 19 Sep 2009, 12:42 am
Regular Cruiser

Default Re: Getting Started

Probably the Air box mod which will cost you a K&N drop in filter. Not sure on cost, $25 maybe? Search it out and you will find instructions.

New plugs and wires are a good idea as the factory wires are crap.

Next Stage 1 which gives you 5hp and 15ftlbs of torque on the '06. $600, but is the building block for many more mods. Basically all that is invloved here is swapping out the pcm.

Beyond that you will want a boost gauge, maybe wideband. Bigger exhaust, boost controllers, stiffer waste gate actuators, the posibilities are endless!!!

Btw are you auto trans or 5spd?

Go and check out PTCrew.com.
2004 GT, 5spd, Stage1, K&N FIPK, Magnaflow 2.5" Catback, 3" O2, 3" Needswings Catless DP, Mopar BOV, NGK Iridiums, Mopar Wires, Aeroforce Interceptor w/wideband kit, Vibrant Catch Can, Prothane Inserts, AMX1397 upper and lower pipes, Plastic Intake, Hurst STS, S2 WGA, Factory Sub and now Alky Injected!
Old 19 Sep 2009, 10:33 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLCruiser View Post
Probably the Air box mod which will cost you a K&N drop in filter. Not sure on cost, $25 maybe? Search it out and you will find instructions.

New plugs and wires are a good idea as the factory wires are crap.

Next Stage 1 which gives you 5hp and 15ftlbs of torque on the '06. $600, but is the building block for many more mods. Basically all that is invloved here is swapping out the pcm.