Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Turbo Performance

PT Cruiser Forum

Plastic Manifold, Hard Pipes and Downpipe

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Jan 2012, 06:05 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Plastic Manifold, Hard Pipes and Downpipe

Time to bump up the performance in my 2004 Touring Turbo. I've been running the Stage 1 for about five years. After replacing the worn-out Crane plug wires with Granatellis I installed the Predator 93 Tune. The car runs pretty good but after searching and reading posts on this site, I am ready to make some additional modifications. At this point the intake and exhaust have been upgraded, along with a blue blow-off valve.

I already have a Cold Air Intake setup that seals to the hood insulation and pulls air from both the stock airbox below and from the side -- I removed a section of the hood sealing gasket at the top of the fender so some cool air gets to the holes in the side of the upper chamber.

I couldn't find a reasonably priced ready-made hard pipe setup to go from the air filter to the turbo intake so I ordered some pieces to make my own. Spectre makes these pieces and the total price with tax and shipping from Race-Mart.com was $102.

Part #9449 - Polished 3" aluminum 45-degree bend.

Part #94990 - Polished 3" aluminum 90-degree bend with 6" leg.

Part #8771 - Black 3" silicone couplers (x2).

Part #8751 - Black 3" to 2.5" silicone coupler:

To complete the intake pipe side, I ordered a ready-made upper intercooler pipe. Comes with worm-drive clamps so I probably need to get some of the better T-clamps.