Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Turbo Performance

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Replacing plugs/wires on 2006 non-GT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Jan 2012, 04:09 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Replacing plugs/wires on 2006 non-GT

Ok, so complete car newbie here, so please don't use abbreviations or shorthand. And have patience with my seemingly dumb questions. What does N/A mean in the context of this forum anyway?

I recently got a 2006 Turbo (not GT) with 48K miles on it. I have no idea what's been done to it in terms of modifications. One of the first things I'm seeing on this forum is people saying to replace the spark plugs and wires because the factory ones are crap.

How do I know whether they've been replaced already? I looked at the wires and they say MOPAR on them. I haven't tried looking at the plugs yet; do the wires just pull off the top of them?

I was planning to head up to my dad's for a few days since I'm currently out of a job and have him help me, since he and my brother are car gurus, but I'd like to learn and do as much as possible before I go.

I've done hours of research on this forum and elsewhere, and am planning to get the NGK Copper Plugs (part 4306) (since it's not GT, should they still gap at .4?). I can't get a good answer on wires though. I want wires that will last, but perform decently. I'm not a lead-foot or racer, if that makes a difference. Mid- to low-priced is better for me.

Thanks for any help!
Old 20 Jan 2012, 05:00 pm
Dedicated Cruiser

Default Re: Replacing plugs/wires on 2006 non-GT

Welcome to the forum!!!!

Let me give you a few pointers:
N/A means Natural Aspirated in other words "non turbo".
You can use any wires, anything is better than the OEM Mopars.
The plug gap is .040 for any PT cruiser.

BTW, where are you from?
Old 20 Jan 2012, 05:03 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Sure, or just Champion Copper-Plus.