Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Turbo Performance

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Engine Oil Dipstick Issue (PT GT 03)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Mar 2013, 02:47 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Engine Oil Dipstick Issue (PT GT 03)

I've been doing oil changes to my pt since I bought it 3 years ago. The first time I changed the oil I added enough oil to make it to the full line; I NEVER checked engine oil capacity. I was adding about 3 Ltrs every time (4.75 Ltrs = 5 Qtrs) and oil dipstick was on above full line. 3 ltrs should be to little to make it above full line.

*I am not a mechanic but I know how to change oil and check properly. I turned on the engine after oil was added, plug and oil filter were on. Then shut off car, clean oil dipstick and check fluid level.

One time I added 4 Ltrs and car was leaking oil (just few drops) so I drained just a little and no more leaks. I continue adding about 3 Ltrs every time and just as a routine, I used to checked the oil dipstick even though I knew it was not giving proper levels. Always above full line

On my last oil change I DID checked the fluid capacity on the forum and added what others were adding 5 qrts. After about 1 K miles of oil change, the car is leaking oil but this time is a lot. I have no idea how much I have lost since oil dipstick reads more than full line. Due to weather conditions I was only able to make a quick check and oil is everywhere underneath the car. I need to clean everything so I only checked drain plug and filter and that is not leaking. No weird colour smoke is coming. No sign of coolant with oil.
Any suggestions on what should I check? What should I do to solve the dipstick issue?
Old 24 Mar 2013, 05:51 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Engine Oil Dipstick Issue (PT GT 03)

Hard to understand exactly what's going on the way you describe it.